Voting: Blue Wave Rally canceled today at Rome City Hall. 101,610 (and counting) votes so far from Northwest Georgia; 3.9 million statewide. Focus shifts to Election Day on Tuesday. Polls open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voting: Blue Wave Rally canceled today at Rome City Hall. 101,610 (and counting) votes so far from Northwest Georgia; 3.9 million statewide. Focus shifts to Election Day on Tuesday. Polls open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

ON THIS PAGE: Updates on absentee ballots / drop box locations /  sample ballots

Floyd Democrats cancel Blue Wave that had been set for 3-5 p.m. at City Hall, 601 Broad St. Local organizers cite security concerns raised by state party officials. Rome Police “have not had any word on militia,” says Assistant Chief Debbie Burnett.

Who’s due in our area this week: 

  • Sunday: 8:30 p.m., Donald Trump visit at Richard B. Russell Airport.

This week’s permitted assemblies:

  • Floyd County Democratic Party: Tuesday: Sign waving sidewalk at Barron Stadium and Fourth Avenue across from Jefferson’s.

Election night calendar:

  • The Floyd County Republican  Party will host a watch party Tuesday night at Rome City Brewing at 333 Broad St. from 7 until 11 p.m.

Focus shifts to election day: With advance voting done and absentees due by 7 p.m. Tuesday, the 2020 general election now moves to the precincts. All are open Tuesday from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. What’s key is knowing where to vote. Please double check between now and election day by going to the Secretary of State’s MVP page (My Voter Page).

Election Day forecast: Clear skies all day, with a temperature of 34 at 7 a.m., 55 at noon, 56 at 7 p.m.

ABOUT THAT EARLY VOTE: 101,610 vote early (in person, absentee) so far from Northwest Georgia with absentee ballots still arriving.

Floyd County: Through Friday

  • 10,882 absentee ballots have been processed by the Elections Office (as of noon Friday)
  • 24,280 people have voted in-person at the advance voting locations.
  • 35,162 total votes.

Bartow County: Through Friday

  • 9,742 absentee ballots returned.
  • 27,274 people voted in-person at the advance voring locations.
  • 37,016 total votes, equals a 49.79% voter turnout so far.
  • Turnout for Tuesday? Joseph Kirk, Elections Supervisor says, “As far as the total number for the entire cycle – no idea.  I’ve based my staffing and supply estimates on an 80% turnout overall split 50/50 between absentee and Election Day voters. In 2020, it wouldn’t surprise me to still see a 40% turnout on Election Day.”

Gordon County: Through Friday.

  • 3.825 absentee ballots returned.
  • 11,896 people have voted in-person at advance voting locations.
  • 15,721 total votes.
  • Shea Hicks, Gordon County Elections Chairperson, says “We are predicting an 80% voter turnout.”

Polk County: Through Friday

  • 2,658 absentee ballots returned.
  • 11,053 people have voted in-person at advance voting locations.
  • 13,711 total votes.
  • From Brande Coggins, Elections Coordinator: “We are anticipating an 80% turnout for Polk which would mean an additional 9,000 votes on Tuesday!”

Statewide ballots: The latest numbers from the Secretary of State’s office through 8 p.m. Saturday:

  • Total Number of Ballots Cast: 3,902,961
  • Total Number of Early, In-Person Ballots Cast Today: 319
  • Total Number of Early, In-Person Ballots Cast: 2,687,523
  • Total Number of Absentee By Mail Ballots Cast: 1,215,438


Three more drop boxes for absentee ballots will not be operational until at least Monday. They’ll be stationed at:

  • Gilbreath Recreation Center, 106 Garden Ave., Lindale
  • Anthony Recreation Center, 2901 Garden Lakes Blvd, Rome
  • Thornton Recreation Center, 102 North Floyd Park Road, Armuchee

Already in service are:

  • Rome Floyd County Library, 205 Riverside Pkwy NE, Rome
  • Floyd County Administration Building, 12 E. Fourth Ave.,  Rome
Bartow County drop box locations: Drop your sealed ballot off at one of our convenient drop box locations around the county!
  • Elections Office Main Entrance Door, 1300 Joe Frank Harris Pkwy, Cartersville
  • Bartow County Courthouse
  • Allatoona Resource Center
  • Manning Mill Park Gym
  • Euharlee City Hall

From the League of Women Voters of Rome-Floyd County: Absentee Voting 

If you have an absentee ballot that you have not yet mailed back, it’s probably too late to mail it.  But you can still vote, using your absentee ballot. Complete your absentee ballot carefully (some mistakes can invalidate your ballot). Take your completed ballot to one of the Rome and Floyd County absentee ballot drop-off boxes (see above).You can put your completed absentee ballot in either of these outside drop boxes any day, any time up until 7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Today on Hometown Headlines:

  • Floyd County Commission candidates respond to questions about pandemic response, new economic development option and what’s ahead. County candidates
  • Legislative candidates respond to questions about Georgia’s ‘reopening’ and coronavirus response, and what similar issues are ahead for the 2021 General Assembly. Legislative candidates.
  • Atlanta Press Club will partner with Georgia Public Broadcasting on the statewide debates.  GPB News / Atlanta Press Club


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A look at what’s on the Nov. 3 ballot: Full ballots for much of Floyd County posted above.


  • Floyd County Commission, Post 2: Wright Bagby, R; Charles “Coach” Smith, D.
  • Floyd County Commission, Post 3: Allison Watters, R;  Shonna Bailey, D.
  • Clerk of Court: Barbara Penson, R; Moriah Medina, D.

State representatives:

  • District 12: Eddie Lumsden, R; Jonathan Gilreath-Harvey, D.
  • District 16: Trey Kelley, R; Lyndsay Arrendale, D.

State senate

  • District 14: Bruce Thompson,  R.; Travis Johnson, D.
  • District 31: Jason, Anavitarte, R;  Tianna Smith, D.
  • District 52: Chuck Hufstetler, R; Charles DeYoung, D.

Georgia Public Service Commission:

  • District 1: Robert G. Byrant, D; Jason Shaw, R.
  • District 4: Daniel Blackman, D; Lauren Bubba McDonald, Jr., R.

U.S. House (District 11):

  • Democrat: Dana Barrett; Republican Barry Loudermilk.

U.S. Senate:

  • Republican David Perdue; Democrat Jon Ossoff

U.S. Senate (Isakson term):

  • Democrats: Deborah Jackson, Jamesia James, Tamara Johnson-Shealey, Matt Lieberman, Joy Felicia Slade, Ed Tarver, Raphael Warnock, Richard Dien Winfield.
  • Republicans: Doug Collins, Derrick Grayson, Annette Davis Jackson, A. Wayne Johnson, Kelly Loeffler, Kandiss Taylor.

Constitutional amendments:

What to know. Click here.

Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.