Education: 71 students from Adairsville, Cass, Woodland high schools earn AP Scholar awards.

Education: 71 students from Adairsville, Cass, Woodland high schools earn AP Scholar awards.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Media release: Seventy-one Bartow County students earn prestigious AP Scholar Awards after demonstrating exemplary college-level achievement on Advanced Placement exams administered in May.

The College Board recognizes four levels of achievement based on student performance and AP exams. The highest level of academic distinction is National AP Scholar, followed by AP Scholar with Distinction, AP Scholar with Honor, and AP Scholar.

Three Bartow County students, Trinity Conant (AHS ’19), Peter Germ (WHS ’19), and Ezra Petron (WHS ’19) qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average score of 4 or higher on all AP exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Twenty-three students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an
average score of 3.5 or higher on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of
these exams. The honorees include Madison Bailey (AHS ’19), Helen Bryant (AHS ’19), Bryana
Candelaria (AHS ’20), Lelah Cochran (AHS ’19), Trinity Conant (AHS ’19), Ryan Lance (AHS
’19), Robert Barfield (CHS ’19), Jenna Keeler (CHS ’19), Colby-James McKnight (CHS ’19),
Corbin Molnar (CHS ’19), Garrett Moore (CHS ’19), Joshua Peace (CHS ’19), Zachary Thacker
(CHS ’19), Carris Adcock (WHS ’19), Dillon Carver (WHS ’20), Jordan Duck (WHS ’19), Peter
Germ (WHS ’19), Katelyn Grundy (WHS ’19), Heidi Hicks (WHS ’19), Abigail Matthews
(WHS ’20), Ezra Petron (WHS ’19), McKenna Trapheagen (WHS ’20), and Stephen Willoughby
(WHS ’19).

Ten students received the AP Scholar with Honor Award after earning an average score of at
least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. The
recipients are Evelynn Lipham (AHS ’19), Zachary Armstead (CHS ’19), Alexa Halpern (CHS
’20), Mia Jackman (CHS ’19), Emily Linek (CHS ’20), Cortaney Martin-Jones (CHS ’19),
Caitlyn Blankenship (WHS ’19), Madison Cornwell (WHS ’20), Robert Gollhofer (WHS ’19),
and Patrick Hickam (WHS ’19).

Thirty-eight students were awarded the AP Scholar distinction by earning a score of 3 or higher
on three or more AP exams. The honorees are Sierra Fritz (AHS ’19), Tristen Garner (AHS ’19),
Tamaras Henderson (AHS ’19), Abby Herren (AHS ’19), Nic Jackson (AHS ’19), Brandon
Lawhorn (AHS ’20), Audrey Mixon (AHS ’20), Kendall Arnold (CHS ’19), Lexi Atilano (CHS
’20), Julia Belew (AHS ’19), Connor Bryson (CHS ’19), Trinity Byrd (CHS ’19), Caleb
Doolittle (CHS ’20), Alice Draper (CHS ’20), Ethan Etheridge (CHS ’19), Joseph Forsyth (CHS
’20), Brianna Gonsahn (CHS ’19), Makayla Harlan (CHS ’19), Mary Kyle (CHS ’19), Isabella
Mann (CHS ’19), Andrea Mosqueda Cruz (CHS ’19), Reese Pirkle (CHS ’19), Keegan Ruggles
(CHS ’19), Candice Simmons (CHS ’19), Grace Weeks (CHS ’19), Reagan Wilson (CHS ’19),
Camden Acree (WHS ’19), Abbey Bartmess (WHS ’19), Stanton Bedwell (WHS ’20) Everett
Brannon (WHS ’20), Brady Fuller (WHS ’21), Kiersten Iruegas (WHS ’19), Sarah Moore (WHS
’19), Ana Novo (WHS ’20), Adam Pirkle (WHS ’20), William Sands (WHS ’19), Calvin Stovall
(WHS ’20), and Rebecca Wesley (WHS ’20).

The district-wide focus on AP programs during the 2018-2019 school year resulted in 35 percent
more students taking AP courses and nearly 30 percent more AP exams taken compared to the
2017-2018 school year.

“Our students scored a 3 or higher on 61 more AP exams compared to 2018,” says District AP
Coordinator Paula Camp. “I am so proud of our students, parents, and high school AP
coordinators for their commitment to increasing both access and success in AP courses. I am also
excited that the Bartow County School System added AP course offerings this year at the Bartow
County College and Career Academy. Our students are being offered more advanced academic
opportunities than ever before, and our students are rising to the challenge.”

“We are most excited about the 29 percent increase in the number of AP scholars from last year
to this year,” adds Cass High School Principal Stephen Revard. “This gives us momentum as we
create an Advanced Placement Pathway to include at least 20 AP courses over the next three
years. Thus, allowing our students to receive the optimum benefits of the Advanced Placement

“Through rigorous coursework, these standout students develop college skills, such as time
management, critical thinking, and scholarly writing,” says Superintendent Dr. Phillip Page.
“Some discover their passion and earn college credit before their hands hit a high school
diploma. Undoubtedly, college admissions committees recognize AP scores as a barometer for
future college success. Once admitted to a college, these selected students often skip introductory
courses, which, in return, saves money and could result in early graduation.”
The 2018-2019 scholars will be recognized at the Oct. 21 school board meeting.

Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.