Buzz: Georgia Council on Substance Abuse honors Dempsey, Living Proof Recovery founder Claudia Hamilton. GNTC Foundation awards scholarships. Floyd Board of Education sets called meetings on millage rates.

Buzz: Georgia Council on Substance Abuse honors Dempsey, Living Proof Recovery founder Claudia Hamilton. GNTC Foundation awards scholarships. Floyd Board of Education sets called meetings on millage rates.



State Rep. Katie Dempsey (R-Rome) recently named a 2019 Champion of Recovery and friend of the Georgia Recovery Community by the Georgia Council on Substance Abuse. Dempsey received this award at an event to launch The Georgia Recovers Project, where she also served as a speaker for the event.

Said Dempsey: “As Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Human Resources, I am thoroughly engaged in the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities’ annual budget and have a vested interest in the support services that the agency provides for our citizens.  I also serve on the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities’ Behavioral Health Coordinating Council where I get to see firsthand the great work that is being done across our state to help those in the recovery community. I strongly believe in the power of recovery.”

The Georgia Recovers Project is funded by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities via the Trump Administration federal initiative to Stop Opioid Abuse. The project initiates a statewide recovery marketing campaign featuring 18 people in long-term recovery who will appear on billboards and share positive messages of hope through video stories and information about where to find further recovery supports.

One of the 18 individuals selected for the Georgia Recovers Project is Claudia Hamilton of Rome. Claudia founded LivingProof Recovery, a Recovery Community Organization and non-profit to support long term recovery from substance abuse in the community by providing advocacy, training, peer support and spiritual guidance.

Floyd County Schools sets called meetings for millage rate: The following are the dates for the upcoming called board meetings regarding setting the millage rate.  The first meeting is on July 1 at 11:30 a.m. followed by that evening at 6 p.m. and the final meeting on July 15 at 7:30 a.m. (prior to our regular monthly board meeting where caucus will begin at 8 and board meeting at 8:30 a.m.)

The Foundation at Georgia Northwestern Technical College awarded scholarships to one qualified student at each of the 27 high schools and five college and career academies in Northwest Georgia.

GNTC faculty, staff, board members and Foundation Trustees were available at many of the schools to present each scholarship winner with a $500 award to help pay for the expenses of the first year of college.

Resources for the GNTC High School Graduate Scholarships are raised through GNTC employee donations on all six campuses and through annual fundraising events.

The winners of the 2019 GNTC Foundation Scholarships are Morgan Niederhuth, Armuchee HS;  Hyson Golden, Calhoun HS; Brady Carney, Calhoun College and Career Academy; Harmony Shaw, Cedartown HS; Kaitlin Minard, Chattooga HS; David Chavez Lara, Coahulla Creek HS; Christopher J. Brockman, Coosa HS; Robin Drew, Dade County HS; Maynor Escobar, Dalton HS; Samuel Moland, Floyd County College and Career Academy; Nathaniel Tate, Gordon Central HS;  Bryan Contreras, Gordon County College and Career Academy; Chanler Hysell, Gordon Lee HS; Eric Dumas, Heritage HS; Makinsey Cherie Reynolds, LaFayette HS; Dylan Matthew Simpson, Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe HS; Kate Danielle Russell, Model HS; Leydi Ballesteros, Morris Innovative HS; Jasmine McCollumn, Murray County HS;  Sydney Stanley, North Murray HS;  Derick Densmore, Northwest Georgia College and Career Academy; Priscilla Pimentel, Northwest Whitfield HS;  Hannah Jackson, Pepperell HS; Evelyn Fraire, Phoenix HS;  Jocelyn Medina, Polk County College and Career; Janet Yepez, Ridgeland HS; David Hayes, Ringgold HS;  Peyton Jones, Rockmart HS; Erik Domingo, Rome HS; Payton Woodring, Sonoraville, HS; Montserrath Cruz, Southeast HS; and Bill Ramirez, Trion HS.

“We’re honored to support and encourage high school students in our nine-county service area by providing these scholarships to help further their education,” said Michelle Beatson, GNTC foundation administrator. “Georgia Northwestern is a vital foundation to so many of our high school graduates. This scholarship is aimed at assisting students with the cost of education and to help get them on the road to a successful future.”

The Chattooga High School Alumni Scholarship also was presented to 10 students at Chattooga High School this year. This scholarship was made possible by an alum of Chattooga HS. The GNTC Foundation awarded the $250 Chattooga Alumni Scholarships to the following Class of 2019 graduates: Elijah Ard, Courtney Burgess, Destiny Cabe, Kimberley Michelle Chandler, Jacob Lacey, Leigha McKenzie McDaniel, Annie Morgan McGraw, Kristen Ratledge, Alexandria Sydney Mitchell and Ashelyn Watson.

The Foundation at GNTC helps fund academic and support programs at the college throughout the year and has helped thousands of students in the northwest Georgia region attend college.

Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.