Health: Dr. Kathryn Carroll joins Harbin Clinic Pediatrics Rome. Floyd nurse Lindsey Allen earns DAISY Award.

Health: Dr. Kathryn Carroll joins Harbin Clinic Pediatrics Rome. Floyd nurse Lindsey Allen earns DAISY Award.

Harbin Clinic Pediatrics Rome Welcomes Dr. Kathryn Carroll: For Dr. Kathryn Carroll, being a pediatrician is an adventure. From newborns growing into toddlers to teens developing into young adults, helping her patients reach wellness milestones is a voyage they take together. “I love being a part of children’s lives as they grow,” says Dr. Carroll. “They’re so fun, wholesome and full of energy, and it’s a wonderful experience to help them learn to be healthy and happy.” Dr. Carroll discovered the joy of being part of that journey during her residency at OSF St. Francis Medical Center in Peoria, Illinois. She recalls one of her first patients during her residency, where from diagnosis to recovery, Dr. Carroll was an integral part of the process. “Whenever I would see the child and the family in the hospital or even in the community, we would hug and catch up. They associated me with their whole path to wellness because I was there from the beginning. One of the most exciting parts about being a general pediatrician is being a part of an entire childhood, not just one diagnosis.” Now, Dr. Carroll begins her journey with Harbin Clinic Pediatrics Rome, where she joins the practice of Dr. Todd Kelley, Dr. Caroline Yaphockun and Dr. Robersteen Howard. A Marietta native, Dr. Carroll says “Rome is a great place for my family. It has all the amenities of a big city with the community feel we want. Now we’re able to raise our son where we can contribute to the community and in turn, the community helps us raise him.” She received her Doctor of Medicine degree from Ross University School of Medicine in Portsmouth, Dominica, and completed her Pediatric Residency at the University of Illinois at Peoria at OSF St. Francis Medical Center. Dr. Carroll is certified by the Educational Commission of Foreign Medical Graduates and also holds certifications in Pediatric Advanced Life Support and Neonatal Resuscitation. Dr. Carroll is a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Lindsey Allen, a registered nurse in Floyd’s Intensive Care Unit, has received the DAISY award for the second quarter of 2018. The award pays tribute to outstanding bedside care provided by nurses. Allen, who has worked at Floyd since May 2017, was nominated by fellow registered nurse Celeste Weaver.

“On Wednesday, June 6, 2018, we had a patient on comfort care who had served and retired from the Marine Corps,” Weaver wrote in a form nominating Allen.  “The nurse was so compassionate and wanted to do something special for him and the family before he was deceased. So, the nurse contacted the recruitment center and a uniformed officer came to honor him and his family for their service. As a member of a family who has served in many branches, I am overwhelmed at the nurse’s dedication to our veterans.”

“This is an honor. It’s very close to my heart and I am very grateful,” Allen said. “The family I came in contact with while I cared for the patient, they touched my heart as well. I believe this is something the family and I are going to remember forever.”

DAISY, or diseases attacking the immune system, is an award recognized internationally. It was established by the family of Patrick Barnes after he died from an auto-immune disease while being treated in a Seattle hospital. His family was thankful for the care he received and created the award to thank nurses for the job they do.

Below is the complete list of nominees:

  • Kayla Agan
  • Lindsey Allen
  • Teri Anderson
  • Shawna Bailey
  • Stacey Beard
  • Emma Betz
  • Heather Braden
  • Whitney Brannon
  • Logan Brookshire
  • Joseph Bryant
  • Jennifer Carter
  • Debbie Chastain
  • Linda Clough
  • Abby Cothran
  • Chuck Cox
  • Jasmine Dallas
  • Jessica Dillard
  • Tweety Duong
  • Whitney Ebel
  • Brittany Fowler
  • Leah Galehouse
  • Jamie Gault
  • Colleen Gossett
  • Amanda Hall
  • Devyn Hass
  • Megan Hight
  • Carla Hilburn
  • Deborah Holcomb
  • Susan House
  • Daniella Huggins
  • Ansley Hughes
  • Laurie Hughes
  • Jill Pic
  • Chris Kirby
  • Kristi Bray
  • Brittany Letner
  • Andy Mathis
  • Halyn McCarty
  • Gina McGuire
  • Tiffany McGuire
  • Jordan McPherson
  • Crystal Meyers
  • Valerie Miller
  • Cynthia Mills
  • J’May Motes
  • Rhiannon Nicholson
  • April Oliver
  • Shelley O’Neal
  • Christa Page
  • Ginger Parker
  • Nicholas Phillips
  • Joncie Prewett
  • Cheryl Roe
  • Brandon Rucker
  • Leize Shirah
  • Heather Shore
  • Amanda Smith
  • Myra Steely
  • Katie Swafford
  • Tashina Coffey
  • Melissa Thibaudeau
  • Brandi Thompson
  • Heather Tucker
  • Misty Turner
  • Johnny Walker
  • Jacy Wentz
  • Zach Whitener
  • Tara Williams
  • Erica Wingate
  • Deborah Winn
  • Katie Woodman




Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.