Remembering Capt. Louis Dean of the Adairsville Police Department.

Remembering Capt. Louis Dean of the Adairsville Police Department.

For the second time since December, the Adairsville Police Department is preparing to bury one of its own Tuesday afternoon.

Adairsville Police Capt. Louis Dean, 47, died Saturday at Gordon Hospital. He served several roles at the police department, including assistant police chief as well as public information officer.

It was Dean who notified the media in early December of the passing of then-Chief Rick Townsend, 64, with this message:

“It is with great sadness that we are writing to advise that Rick Townsend, Chief of the Adairsville Police Department, passed away this morning at 1:25. Chief Townsend fought a great fight, but succumbed to his battle with cancer early this morning. He was a great man, a leader and a friend.   He will be missed.  Please keep his family in your prayers. Information regarding his services will be forthcoming.”

Services for Dean are set for 4 p.m. Tuesday and area law enforcement will be attending. Below please find his obituary:

Louis Karl Dean, age 47 of Gordon County passed away Saturday, August 11, 2018, at Gordon Hospital.

Louis was born in Thomasville, Ga.,on April 24, 1971 to the late Claude Ferrel Dean and Ursula Dean. He was the police captain and assistant chief of police in the city of Adairsville. Louis loved his wife and daughter; he was also an avid Harley Davidson motorcycle enthusiast and Georgia Bulldog Fan.

He is survived by his best friend and loving wife, Dodie Dean of Calhoun; daughter, Bailey Caroline Dean of Cartersville; brother, Mario Girard of Brunswick; sister, Cassie Hembree of Canton; nephews, Hudson Hembree and Heath Hembree both of Canton.

Funeral Services will be conducted on Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at Trinity Baptist Church at 4 p.m. with Reverend Jim Pinkard officiating. Burial will follow in Fain Cemetery. Gordon County Sheriff’s Department Honor Guard will have graveside rites. Pallbearers serving are Brian Holloman, Mark Waycaster, Chad Phillips, Anthony King, Mike Nance, Mike Jones, and Therrell Goswick. Honorary pallbearers are the City of Adairsville Police Department and local law enforcement agencies.

Thomas Funeral Home.

Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.